top of page

HighImpactEnglish

  • Writer's pictureJames

5 Songs to teach the 2nd and 3rd conditionals.

Hundreds of famous songs use the conditional and they are a great way to introduce the target language and stimulate discussion. Here are 5 examples which I have found effective and the activities I use in class. In most cases the activities focus on one part of the song in order to focus on the specific structure that's used there (it's a language lesson with a song, not a song lesson with some language).



2nd Conditional


I Wish

One of my favourites is "I wish" by Skeelo, it's fun and has some great language:

  • I wish I was....

  • I wish I had..

  • I would..

I use this powerpoint is great to drill the first verse. I wish I was a little bit taller.pptx




If I were a boy


Another great option is "If I were a boy" by Beyonce. (the geek in me is so excited that she uses the subjunctive were form). It links to the question of whether boys have it easier than their female counterparts. This is a debate everyone can relate to, so there's lots of potential for an interesting discussion. You can find lots of more detailed lesson plans for this song if you google it online, but here is the powerpoint I use: If I Were a Boy.pptx



If I had a million dollars


Bare naked ladies' if I had a million dollars is another possibility.


Explain that the song is about all the wonderful things the singer would buy his love if he had a million dolIars and play to 0.38 to give them an idea (they say they'd buy a house). Then show students these two verses with blue words blanked out and get them to guess what they could be.

If I had a million dollars

Well I'd buy you a fur coat

But not a real fur coat that's cruel

And if I had a million dollars

Well I'd buy you an exotic pet

Yep like a llama or an emu


If I had a million dollars We wouldn't have to walk to the store If I had a million dollars And we'd take a Limousine cause it costs more


Then play 1.54-2.48 to check (there's a bit in the middle about John Merrick which I kind of ignore, but he was the elephant man in case you get asked (thanks google)


Follow up Option 1


What would you buy if you had a million dollars? - make a list in pairs/small groups then vote for the best one.


Follow up Option 2


Put students in 3's - student A and B have to compete for who can offer C (lets call him Fred!) the most amazing gifts.

A: If had a million dollars, I'd buy Fred a monkey.

B: That's nothing, If had a million dollars, I'd take Fred on an all expensive paid trip to Vegas

A: Call that a holiday? If had a million dollars, I'd send Fred to the moon in Elon Musk's private car....



3rd Conditional


I Will Survive


Yes it's horrifically cheesy, but that's fine if you embrace it in a "so bad it's good" kinda way and it's got a lot going for it too. A catchy melody (making the language memorable) , nice clear lyrics and it tells a story. Throw in some 3rd conditional and you've got the perfect song to teach with.


Explain that you're going to hear a song about a relationship. What happened? Play the first 30 seconds and get the students to discuss what they understood. (if necessary you can use the youtube settings to play it back slower). Then give them the questions below, before repeating the first 30 seconds.

  • How did she feel when her lover left?

  • What did she realise about them?

  • How does she feel about them coming back?

Then show the lyrics to confirm, getting students to fill in the missing words (I've coloured the text I might blank out, putting them in groups of rhyming words).


At first I was afraid, I was petrified

Kept thinking I could never live without you by my side

But then I spent so many nights thinking how you did me wrong

And I grew strong, And I learned how to get along

And so you're back, from outer space

I just walked in to find you here With that sad look upon your face


So, what's she going to say to them? Elicit predictions, before playing until 0.46 to check.


This is where the target language comes in. Try searching for the lyrics in students' L1 and getting them to translate into English.

Translation is sometimes frowned upon and it's not something I do all the time. However, translating whole sentences can help students better understand how English works. To do it successfully you can't simply transcribe word for word but have to change and re-order the language to get the same sense.

I googled the Spanish lyrics and got the students to translate it into English, before relistening to check.


Yo debería haber cambiado esa estúpida cerradura

Yo debería haberte hecho dejar tu llave

Si lo hubiera sabido por un segundo Que volverías para molestarme

Vete, ahora vete Sal por la puerta

Simplemente date la vuelta Porque ya no eres bienvenido.


I should have changed that stupid lock I should have made you leave your key If I had known for just one second you'd be back to bother me

Go on, now go, walk out the door Just turn around now 'Cause you're not welcome anymore


Follow up


Relationship roleplay: put students in pairs and explain that they have just broken up from a terrible relationship (this doesn't have to be romantic, friendship/workmates/housemates works fine if students are shy).

Give them these structures:

  • If I had known you'd ...(something terrible), I would have....(something even more terrible!)

  • I should (never) have...

For example:

If I had known you'd lose my cat, I would have put ants in your cereal.

I should never have introduced you to my mother.


Should Have Said No


Here's a slightly more up-to-date option with Taylor Swift. It tells a story and hits us with the target phrase repeatedly.


Explain to the students that Taylor is cross with her boyfriend, ask them to guess why.


Then play the song 0.22-1.14 students discuss what they understood.


Here are the lyrics, (with blue words blanked out for students to listen for).


Yesterday I found out about you Even now just looking at you feels wrong You say that you'd take it all back given one chance;

it was a moment of weakness, and you said "yes"

You should've said no

You should've gone home You should've thought twice before you let it all go

You should've known that word about what you did with her Would get back to me (get back to me)


And if things are going well, you may choose to play the next bit too (1.14-1.30).


And I should've been there in the back of your mind I shouldn't be asking myself why You shouldn't be beggin' for forgiveness at my feet You should've said no Baby, and you might still have me


Follow up Option 1


Gloria Gaynor Relationship Roleplay (see above).


Follow up Option 2


The rubbish friend role-play.

Elicit some reasons why someone might be having a bad day and board as many as possible (headache, in trouble at school, failed an exam, etc.)

Student A tells their partner a problem and, instead of lending a sympathetic ear, student B tells them what they did wrong.


I've got a stomach ache

Well you shouldn't have eaten all those sweets

My mums cross with me

You should have tidied your room!



Bonus Material


Well, this isn't a song, but the poem "would have, could have, should have" by Bobbi Duffy works really well for talking about regrets. Here it is with a couple of questions I ask my students about it. It's a nice activity because there are several, equally viable interpretations.


bottom of page